you're reading...
Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, LSU, MS State, Ole Miss, SEC West

Fluffy’s SEC Week one breakdown: West Edition

Alabama– ehh.  That is what I felt like after watching that Kent State game.  I was expecting T. Rich to blow someone’s head off the first time he ran across the line of scrimmage.  Don’t get me wrong they are great this year.  I mean what do you expect from a team who scores three touchdowns on three possessions and totally dominated the opposing team on both sides of the ball.  The Quarterback situation is a non issue as far as I am concerned.  I don’t feel like Saban is gonna let this melodrama continue after the Penn State game.  T. Rich was just trying to come out the other side of this game not injured.  The O-line looked alittle suspect though.  We may see some jiffy this week though.  Yes I said Jiffy.

Arkansas– I’ll be honest.  I didn’t see this game.  But I heard that their defense looks much improved.  I also read that Tyler Wilson was as good as expected.  This will mean good things for the piggies. 

Auburn – How many times do you think Auburn can luckily back into a win?  Not one thing impressed me about this win, other than their kicker can bounce a ball really high off a tee.  I still don’t see how no one touched the guy who caught it.  They even had to do some trick plays to get this win.  If you really want to see how unreal this win was click this link and check out those stats.  E-M-B-A-R-R-A-S-S-I-N-G.  If Auburn is bowl eligible this year it will be because they got this win.

LSU – They looked impressive.  But is this a sign that they are as good as everyone is saying they are or is Oregon migrating back to mediocreness.  We all know the SEC is as fast as anyone in Division I.  We all also know they outweigh everyone else at every position by about 20 pounds.  That second statement means speed don’t mean that much when you go for a pass and get body slammed on the way down.  LSU will be good though.  But as the old saying goes, “You can’t spell Les Miles without two L’s.”

MS State – I have two questions coming from this game.  1. Is State that good this year?  2. Or is Memphis just that bad?  Don’t get me wrong State is much improved this year.  It seems every game under Dan Mullen this team makes improvement where it needs to.  The first big-ish test is this weekend down in Auburn.  State must get over this hump before I make anymore assumptions.

Ole MissAfter looking at the Box Score, this game shouldn’t have even been as close as it was.  Ole Miss lost more than just this game, Brandon Bolden is out “a couple of weeks”.  They also are even less confident about the QB situation as they were before.  I have a real feeling this team will be bad this year.  Nutt needs a realtor I’m afraid.  I’m gonna miss beating him.

Discussion

One thought on “Fluffy’s SEC Week one breakdown: West Edition

  1. I would have to agree with what you have said mr. Fluff. However I will add this to the ole miss recap. The o-line play was poor at best, quite unexpected. I think they made a terrible decision to throw brunetti in the mix this early. Stoudt looked respectable in his limited playing time. With all this being said with the Rebs schedule, and improved qb play 7 wins is a possibility.

    Posted by Whit | September 8, 2011, 10:11 am

Leave a Reply

Archive of our Tomfoolery

